Final Town Election Candidate List – 7 Contested Races


The final list of candidates for the May 16 Town Election is now posted. Absentee ballots are available from the Town Clerk and are due Friday, May 13 by 12:00 noon. Candidates are welcome to email a candidate statement or a link to their campaign website, which we will be happy to post to our website along with info about all the other candidates. Please send to

Offices on the May 16 Ballot

BOARD OF SELECTMEN, For 3 years, Vote for 2 – Contested Race

TOWN MODERATOR, For 3 years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

  • Bruce G. Karlin, 156 Pond St, Democrat, Incumbent
  • Thomas J. Garabedian, 5 David Joseph Rd, Republican

TOWN CLERK, For 3 years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

  • Connor B. Degan, 16 Daniel Shays Rd, Unenrolled
  • Henry R. Kunicki, 47 Teresa Rd, Republican

BOARD OF ASSESSORS, For 3 years, Vote for 1

  • Mary Jo LaFreniere, 18 Walcott Valley Dr, Democrat, Incumbent

BOARD OF HEALTH, For 3 years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

  • Philip A. Cohen, 3 John Matthew Rd, Republican, Incumbent
  • Jennifer C. Flanagan, 238 Ash St, Democrat

BOARD OF LIBRARY TRUSTEES, For 3 years, Vote for 2

  • Michael J. McNamara, 7 Baker Ln, Unenrolled, Incumbent
  • Susan E. Porter, 348 Wood St, Unenrolled, Incumbent

CEMETERY COMMISSIONER, For 3 years, Vote for 1

  • John L. Palmer, 87 Main St, Unenrolled

COMMISSIONERS OF TRUST FUND, For 3 years, Vote for 1

  • Maureen Bumiller, 16 Birchwood Ln, Democrat, Incumbent

CONSTABLE, For 3 years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

  • Michael P. Umina, Sr., 24 Chestnut St, Unenrolled, Incumbent
  • Michael A. Hayes, 1 Third Rd, Democrat

HOPKINTON HOUSING AUTHORITY, For 5 years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

  • Nancy E. Kelleigh, 40 East Main St, Republican, Incumbent
  • Emily R. D’Urso, 37 Wood St, Democrat

COMMISSIONERS OF PARKS & RECREATION, For 3 years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

PLANNING BOARD, For 5 years, Vote for 2

  • Clifford D. Kistner, 86 W Main St, Republican
  • David M. Paul, 7 Meadowland Dr, Unenrolled

SCHOOL COMMITTEE, For 3 years, Vote for 1

  • Nancy M. Richards-Cavanaugh, 25 Priscilla Rd, Unenrolled

Polls are open 7:00am-8:00pm on Monday, May 16. All Hopkinton precincts vote at the Middle School Brown Gym. You must use the rear entrance because school will be in session. There are no ballot questions this year. For more information, contact the Town Clerk’s office at 508.497.9710 or